DIY: Nighttime Blemish Busting Stick

I’ve been working hard on my mug shot trying to keep my face blemish free and I’ve been doing a pretty good job of it! But, without the sun, and with pretty much constant wind burn, all my old acne scars and other face scars are making themselves known as I become more pale and rosy cheeked via wind burn.

I was flipping through various sites for an idea for a stick to help heal some scars  and I realised I have all the ingredients on hand to make my own!

Blemish Buster 4The star of this Blemish Busting Stick is none other than my absolute (ok, top ten, maybe five?) favourite oil; sea buckthorn! I can’t get enough of the stuff! In this recipe I used sea buckthorn fruit oil for the über extra power punch, but if you are looking for a Day Blemish Busting Stick, wait for it! You’ll get a recipe soon!

IMG_4399
Daytime & Nighttime Blemish Busting Sticks!

Sea buckthorn seed oil has the highest source of Vitamin C and E in the vegetable world. Huzzah! Then! It contains essential amino acids and beta carotene- and according to PubMedvitamins: A, C, D, E, F, K, P, and B complex vitamins (B1, B2, B6), provitamin A. All these wonders basically in a nutshell, help to encourage the skin to be better.

Blemish Buster 3I just love the way sea buckthorn oils make my skin look brighter, glowly and all the good things you want your skin to be. Who am I to argue with those kinds of results! I decided on sea buckthorn over rosehip seed oil, which is more commonly known as a scar repair oil, for I seem to get better and more consistent results with sea buckthorn oil. Rosehip is great for my fine lines around my eyes, but for scars and skin health, the orange colour oils win hands down.

I mixed the sea buckthorn fruit oil with some white beeswax, some skin soothing sweet almond oil, Vitamin E and tossed it into a lip chap tube.

I did list some essential oil in the recipe. However; I don’t use a lot of essential oils in my face products, so if you’d like to add some feel free! May I suggest rose, frankincense, neroli, lemon or even tea tree if you are looking for a scar repair essential oil. If you are looking to fight acne blemishes, might I suggest chamomile, lavender, cedar, or tea tree?

I made the recipe purposefully small at only 10g so enough to fill two 5g lip chap tubes or two 5g pots. It takes forever to use up a tube of lip balm, can you imagine how long it would take you to use up a tube of Blemish Busting Stick? Blemish Buster 1

Apply directly to your blemish after washing your face at night. I apply, then sit down to do some work, then go to bed. I found that 60% in this recipe was perfect for my skin without leaving stains or staining my pillow case. If you have very fair skin, I’d suggest trying to make this recipe with less sea buckthorn oil and more sweet almond oil. Sea buckthorn is a medium absorption oil, so it will absorb relatively quick. Not as fast as argan but not a slow as shea. You want to make sure it is absorbed and not wiped off on your pillow case. So give it some time to work it’s magic!

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 6.22.53 PM.png

  1. Prepare your work space; wipe down all your tools and beaker with rubbing alcohol. Set up your double boiler, and the containers of choice.
  2. Take your smallest beaker (I used my 25mL beaker), and weigh out your sea buckthorn fruit oil, sweet almond oil, and beeswax and place into your double boiler.
  3. Keep a VERY close eye on your beaker, as soon as the beeswax is melted remove from heat ASAP.
  4. Stir, and decant into your prepared containers.
  5. Allow to sit for an hour or two.

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 7.06.45 PM

 

5 thoughts on “DIY: Nighttime Blemish Busting Stick

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑