Summer and Winter Lippy

Burts1Hello! Let’s talk about lips, shall we?

Most people find that they love their Burt’s Bee’s Lip Balm. And who doesn’t? I know I did! For the longest time, Burt’s Beeswax Lip Balm was the only thing that touched my lips. Then, Burt’s came out with some shimmer stuff and my lip stash grew.

Then I moved to China.

And then I could no longer get Burt’s. So I begged my family to send me some. And they sent one tube every so often- and if you are like me? One tube is never enough. Especially when you loose those little tubes like there is no tomorrow!

And finally, I found a shop in China that sold it. For almost the same amount I would make in one hour! And then I’d visit Canada, and stock up. But at the cost of I think it was 4.99CAD for a tube, it wasn’t worth it. In some ways it felt like I was visiting Canada to hit up a Shopper’s just for some friggen lip chap. And anyone who was visiting China quickly got an email asking to pick me up a few tubes.

Looking at the ingredients of the current Burt’s Bees Lip Balm (white beeswax, coconut oil, sunflower seed oil, peppermint oil, rosemary leaf extract, soybean oil, canola oil, limonene) it seems as if my previous favourite lip product has been through a huge change. The last time I used a store bought Burt Product was well over ten years ago now. And I am very sure this recipe is not the same as the one I used!

If memory serves, the ingredients went something like, beeswax, coconut oil, coco butter, sunflower oil, peppermint and rosemary essential oil and lanolin. It was simple! And now it looks like they’ve got a fair bit of filler in the recipe with their soybean oil and canola oil.

Now, let me be clear here. Canola oil and soybean oils are both decent oils. I choose not to use them for a couple reasons; the biggest being, there are BETTER oils out there. These are both very cheap and way down there on the totem pole in terms of purposes. Why reach for something that only gives you a little oomph when you can use something that can have you feeling like a rock star?

IMG_1150So for about two years I puttered in the kitchen with making a lip chap that not only I would like, but love. I gifted a lot of lip chap over the years! I tried working with shea butter, various waxes, various butters, countless types of oils till I finally decided to make something purely simple.

And the Lippy’s were born!

Our Summer and Winter Lippy’s have the exact same ingredient list. They are plain, they are simple, they are the stuff of legends. We made the Winter Lippy to be softer so it applies easier onto the lips. We made the Summer Lippy to be harder so it wouldn’t melt as easily. The Lippy’s had to be decent enough to go on under glosses and lipstick, be colourless, be long lasting, had to be safe enough in case a tiny human or a dog or a cat decided to eat it. It had to have enough power to soften scab wounds (what can I say, I pick at my acne, I’m human!) so they would heal without scaring. And, it had to give a somewhat glossy, but not too glossy finish.

It had high standards it had to live up to.

The Winter and Summer Lippy both live up to the hype. I’ve countless open tubes of Lippy laying around at work and at home, and probably a couple under my couch. I gift these often to people because they are wonderful! I am also guilty of using these as a cuticle care wax, heel softener, boo boo massage wax, elbow softener, any sort of dry chapped skin softener, throwing them at rude people, and more. I love multipurpose things!

How to use: on your lips

Ingredients: Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Cocos Nucifera (coconut) oil*, Cera Alba (beeswax)**

*any coconut oil for the face or lips is only made with virgin coconut oil

** we use raw beeswax for the honey scent

Net Weight:  5g +/- 1g

Shelf Life: 1 year

Notes: even though the Summer Lippy is hard, it will still melt if you leave it in your car, in the sun, in your pocket. I keep mine in my purse when I am out and about and have no problems in the heat of a Hubei, Inner Mongolian, Hangzhou, Guangzhou summer. I have also had the Summer Lippy with me in Mexico and found that if it was in my purse it was ok. Pocket and car are very big no-no’s!

Warnings: these are not intended to be eaten and are not for internal use. This is designed and intended to be used as a lip product.

Future Changes: we are toying with the idea of bringing back peppermint flavoured Lippy’s as that cool tingle in the heat of the summer is simply divine! And maybe a few different oils added in to give them some different colours and properties.

IMG_2350 2
Great pours! 

 

 

One thought on “Summer and Winter Lippy

Add yours

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

