Cleansing China Clay Cream Balm

This new Cleansing China Clay Cream Balm, is not new for me. I’ve had this on my mind since way back in early 2016 when Marie posted “Cold Snap Cleansing Balm” on her blog HumbleBee&Me.  And then! She went ahead and posted an “Orange Wax” cleansing balm and I was drooling with want.  I whipped them up as soon as I had all the ingredients and was immediately in love with them! Then I sat down and calculated how much they cost me to make it. And almost shat my drawers. It was a pricy tub of product that I had to find a way to make something just as awesome, but a little easier on my DIY budget.

So, along the way, I developed some hybrids of clays and oils/waxes, some just oils/butters/waxes and essential oils, and one horrible horrible horrible product that sent me screaming for the hills as I got it in my eye and it burned so horribly I thought I was going to go blind. Needless to say, that one went straight into the trash and has made me totally rethink working with mint crystals and peppermint essential oils.

img_2447.png

It was only after a friend of mine suggested trying it again with her recipe, was gold struck. I changed a fair bit of the recipe to suit my needs and I think this small tub of baby poo hits the nail on the head with what I need it to do.

I knew I didn’t want any soap product near my face. No matter how awesome any of the Scrub Me Down- Happy Skin soap is, my face is temperamental. I find all commercial facial products and all soaps, to be way too stripping of my skins natural oils and as a result, I am left with that squeaky clean feeling. And because I have oily skin, that is not a feeling I want to have. Ever.

Those precious oils my skin naturally makes are the ones I want left on my skin. I want all that dust, dirt, student cooties, yuckies to go away when I wash my face. I want those oils left behind! They are the ones that keep us looking beautiful and young!

So using soap for me was not an option. Anything I make has to leave those oils on my skin and if I get any sort of tight feeling after I wash my face? It’s gone right into the trash. No second chances.

IMG_2502

I had used the Oil Cleansing Method for a long while and I am lazy when it comes to my routine. I want to wash my face, toner, lotion. The OCM takes FOREVER to do. You need to steam, massage, massage, steam, wipe and more. This method of cleaning the face is lovely and nice and great especially for those that suffer from black heads. But I don’t. Now, hormonal acne on the other hand… it’s like my chin and jaw line are trying to remind me that I’m a woman and that I’ve won the monthlyjackpot of getting a period next week! Huzzah for me! I forgot all about it!

According to W.N Logan (2009), Indiana Division of Geology, Kaolin clay is used as skin detoxifying and cleansing agent. The clay contains high content of silica that helps in removing the dead skin and makes it to regenerate. This also purifies and detoxes the skin and makes it moist. In addition, it has unique minerals and phyto-nutrients present, which helps in eliminating toxin and oil from the skin.

Can you guess why I wanted Kaolin Clay in my recipe? You guess right! It’s high in silica!
So, how do you use this tub of wonder?

  1. with DRY hands, scoop out a pea sized amount (or more, or less, whatever suits you best).
  2. apply some warm water to your hands and lather the cleansing balm between them till you get some thick foam going on.
  3. then massage over face, spend some time over your nose, jaw line, and wherever you need a little extra TLC. Treat your neck and decolletage too!
  4. rinse clean, use a face cloth if you’d like, but there is no reason too. Try it both ways and see what you like!
  5. pat dry
  6. follow up with a toner and some lotion if desired.

Ingredients: Kaolin Clay, ewax, wheat germ oil, castor oil, coconut oil, orange wax, candelilla wax, sea buckthorn fruit oil, essential oils

Net weight: 50g +/-5g

Shelf Life: five months if you follow the directions and keep water and moisture out.

Note: It is common when switching facial products for your skin to go through a “purge”. This is very common. Please continue using it for at least a full thirty days before you decide you like or don’t like your new facial product. One easy way to prevent the “purge”, is to gradually introduce your new product to your skin. Use it at night or morning every second day for a week or two then a few times, use it twice a day. Then after a time, use it every time you wash.

Note 2: we purposely made this a hard product as Chinese summers are very unforgiving and we didn’t want it to melt too quickly. If we end up keeping this product, in the Autumn, it will be a wee bit softer.

Warnings: keep water and moisture out. Not for internal use or consumption. If any adverse reactions occur, please discontinue use and consult a medical professional. 

2 thoughts on “Cleansing China Clay Cream Balm

Add yours

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

